A Brief History Of The Indian Premier League At The End Of 2019

A Brief History Of The Indian Premier League At The End Of 2019

The IPL, or the Indian Premier League, is one of the top T20 cricket tournaments in the world. This is a tournament that began in 2008, and as of this writing, it is currently in its eleventh season for tournaments.

In this tournament, there are 62 matches that are played between 8 teams. In 2020, the 12th season of the IPL will begin, and the start date is scheduled in March. With March being right around the corner after the New Year, players and fans alike are both counting down to one of the most anticipated tournaments of the year to begin.

For the 2019 IPL tournament, the defending champions were the Chennai Super Kings, and they played against the Royal Challengers Bangalore in Chennai. This match marked the start of the season. The skipper for the CSK (Chennai Super Kings), Mahendra Singh Dhoni, performance was outstanding in previous series against New Zealand and Australia.

The CSK were considered to be the favorites to win the entire tournament for the 2019 season. However, it is important to understand the rules of the tournament and its history.

General Rules

The IPL T20 Cricket Tournament was created as a form of entertainment for fans. Some of the initial rules of the IPL were changed after the first season ended. However, most of the rules are still in place with the possibility that more rule changes may occur in the future.

When it comes to players, each of the 8 teams must have at least 16 players. All 8 teams must have one coach and one physio.

The sport also requires that a minimum of 2 players on each team have to be from the under -22 pool of the BCCI.

Players for the teams can be acquired through various methods such as:

  • Trading
  • Buying local players
  • Annual auctions
  • Signing players who are uncapped

The First Season

As mentioned above, the first IPL tournament was held in 2008. It began on April 18th and it ended June 1st of that year. The final series was between the Chennai Super Kings and the Rajasthan Royals. The Rajasthan Royals won the tournament by 3 crickets. The Captain for the Rajasthan Royals at the time was Shane Warne.

The most runs were by Shaun Marsh (KXIP) who had a total of 616 runs, and the most wickets were by Sohail Tanivr (RR) with 22 wickets.

The Second Season

The second season of tournaments was held in 2009, but was held in South Africa due to the general elections being held in India during the time.

The tournament ran from April 18th to May 24th, and the final series was between the Royal Challengers Bangalore and the Deccan Chargers. The Deccan Chargers won the series by 6 runs.

The Captain for the Deccan Chargers was Adam Gilchrist, and the most runs were made by Matthew Hayden (CSK) with 572 runs. The most wickets were made by RP Singh (DC) with 23.

The Third Season

2010 marked a special milestone for the IPL because it was the first years that the tournament was broadcasted live on the Internet. Fans from around the world were able to see all of the action in real time on YouTube.

The tournament was held from March 12th until March 25th. The final series was between the Mumbai Indians and the Chennai Super Kings.

The Chennai Super Kings were victorious, and the team won by 22 runs. The Captain of the CSK at the time was Mahendra Singh Dhoni, and the Man of the Series was Sachin Tendulkar (MI).

The most runs were also made by Tendulkar with 618 runs, while Pragyan Ojha has the most wickets at 21.

The Fourth Season

In 2011, the IPL also saw significant changes as the number of teams in the league jumped from eight to ten. The tournament lasted from April 8th until May 28th.

The last series was between the Royal Challengers Bangalore and the Chennai Super Kings. The CSK won the last series by 58 runs.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni was the Captain of CSK during this tournament also, and the Man of the Series was Chris Gayle (RCB). Gayle also had the most runs with 608, and Lasith Malinga (MI) had the most wickets at 28.

The Fifth Season

Once again, the number of teams changed. The league went from ten teams to nine teams. This was the year that Kochi Tuskers Kerala left the league.

The Kolkata Knight Riders beat the Chennai Super Kings in the last series by 5 wickets.

Arrests And Suspensions

In 2013 and 2016, the IPL world was shocked when players and teams were arrested and suspended for various crimes. In 2013, there was a spot-fixing case that was discovered and it led to the arrest of three players from Rajasthan Royals.

In 2016, both the Rajasthan Royals and the Chennai Super Kings were suspended from playing for two years for betting scandals and spot-fixing.

The Indian Premier League has had a very interesting past since its inception. Despite some of the less flattering news, the league continues to be one of the best in the T20 cricket tournament.

Leave a Reply

Close Menu