Sign up for our Newsletter

If you like what you read, please sign up for BetGold's free betting guides and exclusive offers.

Some offers and betting tips don't appear on the site so don't miss out. We promise not to spam you, our emails are very selective, and you can unsubscribe any time.

Bet bold - BetGold!


Brazilian Copa Rio

football player dribbling opponent during a Brazilian Copa do Rio match

The Brazil Copa Rio is the top-level of cup competition in the Brazilian state of Rio de Janeiro. It is officially known as Copa Rio and it was initiated by the football federation of the statement and now the country’s federation. The league isn’t too old, as it was established in 1991 by Rio de Janeiro Football Federation.

Unlike the leagues, the Copa Rio doesn’t undergo regular format changes. This makes it a very reliable betting option for betting-lovers. BetGold also offers some great help with professional predictions for Copa Rio betting and there is immense potential in it too.

Copa Rio Format And Background

The main purpose of the Copa Rio is to pick out one potential representative from the state of Rio for the Copa do Brasil in the next season of the competition. But there were a fair share of format changes in the initial years of the formation. In 1995, the Brazilian football federation provided the opportunity of a club in other parts of the country to be invited into the Copa do Brasil. This led to conflicts which saw big clubs not taking part of the Copa Rio as it had lost its charm.

In 1996 and 1997, an alternative competition was established to replace the Copa Rio. But these experiments failed. In 1998, attempts were made to establish another similar cup competition in Rio without the purpose of the winner qualifying for the Copa do Brasil. But soon, this competition was discontinued and lost ground.

But in the 21st century, this condition arose once again. And the winner of the Copa Rio gets to play in the Copa do Brasil now. 

The regular cup competition rules are followed in the Copa Rio, making it a very dynamic and easy bet for those interested in betting. The odds look at teams that can go through and how the individual games can pan out to be.

Recent History of Brazil Copa Rio

Volta Redonda have won the original Copa Rio title the highest number of times in history- four. As many as four clubs are at second in the overall tally, having won a total of three titles in the cup. Nova Iguacu, Resende, Tigres Brasil and a much more well-known name in Vasco da Gama are at second in the list.

Many other well-known clubs like Flamengo, Fluminense and Boavista have won the title on one occasion. But all of their wins in the competition came before the start of the 21st century- before the competition lost its charm and before it didn’t undergo format changes. 

Betting Tips For The Copa Rio By BetGold

This makes Copa Rio betting very tough to predict. But bettors can always rely on BetGold to attain the best possible betting tips on Copa Rio matches. 

The most recent edition of the competition was won by Bonsucesso in 2019, when they beat Portuguesa by an aggregate margin of 1-0. The finals indeed have two legs and not a single leg. But Bonsucesso still managed to win 1-0.

This too suggests how tough it can be to predict the Copa Rio. But our betting tips can be availed online. BetGold also offers some great betting bonuses on many other football and sports leagues in the world.

Play responsibly, 18+

Sign up for our Newsletter

Bet bold, BetGold by signing up to regular exclusive offers, betting tips and predictions.

Get the latest bonuses, reviews, tips and more in your inbox.