Sign up for our Newsletter

If you like what you read, please sign up for BetGold's free betting guides and exclusive offers.

Some offers and betting tips don't appear on the site so don't miss out. We promise not to spam you, our emails are very selective, and you can unsubscribe any time.

Bet bold - BetGold!


Brazilian U20 Championship

Brazilian football player kicking ball under pressure for a Brazilian U20 championship match

The Brasileiro Under-20s is the first tier of the football league for the U20s that is played in Brazil. While this does come under the Brazilian football federation, the competition was created by the Rio Grande de Sul Football federation. This came into being in 2006 and in 2015, the organising of the league was taken over by the Brazilian football federation.

The fact that it is a new league makes it a very interesting candidate for online betting and betting odds. BetGold offers some great predictions and the Brazilian U20 Championship betting can be a very lucrative betting option for betters online.

While the league is a newer one, it has already seen a fair share of changes in the format. But the current format has been followed for a good while now, allowing for stability to young players to develop and make it big in powerhouse clubs. It is important to note that the Brasileiro Under-20s only has junior teams of those clubs that are playing in Serie A.

Brazilian U20 Championship Format

Earlier, the competition had a total of 30 teams taking part in it. But now, that number has been reduced to 20 and this began to be followed since the year 2007. 

The current format sees the total 20 teams get divided into four groups of five teams each. Teams that are in the same group play each other once, with the winner of a game picking up three points and the loser not getting a single point.

On the basis of how many points these teams win, those that finish in the top-two spots qualify for the quarter-finals. From here on, the league follows a simple knockout format instead of a round-robin format.

Teams play each other once in the quarter-finals and the next few stages. And the loser gets eliminated. In that way, the winners of the two semi-finals go on to play in a final to crown the winner. The losers of the semi-finals also go onto play a third-placed game and the winner finishes third in the competition. The final is a two-legged affair.

Brazil Under-20 Championship League Recent History

The recent few years have seen Flamengo do well in the Brasileirão U20s. They are the reigning champions of the competition, having beaten closest rivals Palmeiras by an aggregate scoreline of 3-1, despite having lost the first-leg 1-0.

Palmeiras won the title in 2018 by beating Vitoria in the final. Since the new format came into being, only Cruzeiro, Botafogo and Fluminense are the other teams to have won the Brasileiro U20s. This makes it a tough league to predict but BetGold offers some great betting tips on what to seek betting rewards from.

The older format saw four clubs dominate the competition. Cruzeiro won it twice, while São Paulo also won the Brazilian U20s Championship on two occasions- like Internacional and Gremio. Only America won the title on a single occasion.

Most Successful Team Of The Brazilian U20 Championship

Overall, Cruzeiro have won the competition the highest number of times- four, with their latest win coming as early as 2017.

To seek more of the best betting odds, check out the BetGold top online bookmakers reviews and test your favourite. BetGold not only offers great betting tips on the Brazilian U20s Championship, but they do that for many other football and sports leagues in the world.

Play responsibly, 18+

Sign up for our Newsletter

Bet bold, BetGold by signing up to regular exclusive offers, betting tips and predictions.

Get the latest bonuses, reviews, tips and more in your inbox.