Sign up for our Newsletter

If you like what you read, please sign up for BetGold's free betting guides and exclusive offers.

Some offers and betting tips don't appear on the site so don't miss out. We promise not to spam you, our emails are very selective, and you can unsubscribe any time.

Bet bold - BetGold!


CONMEBOL Copa America

Antonio Valencia playing for Ecuador during a Copa America football match

The Copa América is a South American football competition that sees all the continent’s top sides come together in an attempt to be declared champion. The rivalries between these sides are incredibly intense, meaning every game is a fascinating and entertaining watch. 

The odds on each match are always intriguing for people betting online, as there will always be controversial moments. BetGold offers its customers the chance to really get involved with Copa América betting, as it offers tips and predictions for the biggest games played in the tournament.

Copa América History

It may surprise people to learn that the Copa América is in fact the oldest international football competition in the world, even older than the World Cup. The first edition of the tournament was held in 1916, and consisted of only four sides; Uruguay, Brazil, Argentina and Chile. 

Held in the Argentine capital of Buenos Aires, it was a simple group format instead of any head to head/knockout ties. While there was no such thing as online odds or betting back then, over 30,000 fans were packed into the Avellaneda stadium to see the final match between the hosts and Uruguay. While the game ended in a 0-0 draw, it was the Uruguayan’s that were crowned as the first Copa América champions.

Copa América Historic Teams And Players

The early years of the competition were dominated by Uruguay, who also went on to win the first two editions of the World Cup in 1930 and 1934. They have been crowned Copa América champions an impressive 15 times, with their most recent victory coming in 2011, helped by an emerging talent in Luis Suarez. 

While Suarez is nearing the end of his career, the odds for Uruguay to win the next edition will still be tempting for people betting online, as they will always be in with a shout of lifting the trophy.

Behind Uruguay the next two most successful sides are Argentina, with 14 wins, and Brazil with 9. This will be interesting for online betting fans to read, as Brazil are usually considered to be the best side in the history of international football. 

However, while they were crowned champions in 2019, it was their first Copa América title since 1989. Therefore, BetGold visitors will need to examine the odds carefully when looking to place bets on the Brazilian side in the 2021 competition.

Copa América Recent Editions

Since those early days the competition has changed drastically. Now there are 12 different teams competing, and while the majority of them are still from South America, the 2019 edition saw both Japan and Qatar invited to take part in the competition. 

Some of the top players who represent their countries in the Copa América are Neymar for Brazil, Leo Messi of Argentina, the Chilean player Alexis Sanchez and James Rodriguez from Colombia.

With the next tournament only a year away, BetGold customers will already be anticipating who will have the most favourable odds, and which side could be the dark horse to do much better than expected. Copa América betting is always worth getting involved in, and there is no better competition to BetGold sports betting specialists.

Play responsibly, 18+

Sign up for our Newsletter

Bet bold, BetGold by signing up to regular exclusive offers, betting tips and predictions.

Get the latest bonuses, reviews, tips and more in your inbox.