Sign up for our Newsletter

If you like what you read, please sign up for BetGold's free betting guides and exclusive offers.

Some offers and betting tips don't appear on the site so don't miss out. We promise not to spam you, our emails are very selective, and you can unsubscribe any time.

Bet bold - BetGold!


English EFL Cup

The English Football League Cup is a knockout tournament that features all of the teams in England’s professional leagues. With teams from all levels competing, there is always the chance that a shock or surprise can happen, thus providing those who like to make the most of online betting with a great opportunity to get in on the action with BetGold, especially for punters looking for the best English Football League Cup betting tips.

English Football League Cup Rules & Format

As mentioned, each of the professional teams to be involved in England’s football pyramid are involved in the English Football League Cup. This means that there are football clubs from England’s Premier League, England’s Championship and England’s Leagues One and Two.

There are a total of seven rounds – First Round, Second Round, Third Round, Fourth Round, Quarter-final, Semi-final and Final – that feature the 92 football teams in England’s top four divisions, with each of the stages following a knockout format. 

Teams from Leagues One and Two will compete in the first round, whilst teams from the Premier League and the Championship will each enter the competition from either Round Two or Round Three depending on their rankings, thus providing bettors with the chance to make the most of the competitive English Football League Cup odds that are made available each time a match takes place.

It is the first competition to be completed in the English season, with the final usually taking place at the end of February or at the beginning of March. The final normally takes place at Wembley Stadium and is completed over one match. If the scores are level after 90 minutes, the game will then be concluded after extra-time/penalties.

Historic Teams Of The English FA Cup

There have been a number of different teams to have been crowned English Football League Cup winners throughout the competition’s history.

Liverpool have proven to be one of the most successful teams to win the tournament, whilst teams such as Manchester City, Aston Villa, Manchester United and Chelsea have each been able to win the tournament on numerous occasions.

However, it should also be known that the possibility of a ‘giant killing’ has a rather high chance of occuring, as many of the biggest teams competing in English football will look to play a ‘weakened’ side because of the number of games they play throughout the season, thus giving teams in lower divisions the chance to be able to pick up a famous win. Therefore, fans of online betting will like this tournament as they have plenty of opportunities to place a wager on the action.

Indeed, bettors who want to get involved in English Football League betting will like their chances at times as there have been a number of the world’s best footballers and managers to have each made appearances in the competition over the years.

BetGold Has Top Betting Tips For The EFL Cup

Indeed, BetGold members are able to get the very best English Football League Cup betting tips available on the tournament, while giving you a list of the best bookmakers who provide some of the best markets available on the internet.

Therefore, if you are ready to get involved in English Football League Cup betting, then why not get involved with BetGold when the competition is in play?

Play responsibly, 18+

Sign up for our Newsletter

Bet bold, BetGold by signing up to regular exclusive offers, betting tips and predictions.

Get the latest bonuses, reviews, tips and more in your inbox.